Why I like libraries

by blog4phil

Paperback Books by juliaf is licensed under CC BY 2.0

Paperback Books” by juliaf is licensed under CC BY 2.0

In high school I wasn’t much of a reader. While I enjoyed English class and most of the books I had to read for it, I never picked up a novel in my free time. I remember telling myself that I didn’t have to read outside of school in order to be a good writer, that I was better off being ignorant because then I wouldn’t be influenced by other writers and therefore I would be more original.

Yeah, I was an idiot.

The summer before my first semester of college, I went to the library to check out some books. I can’t remember why I suddenly had the urge to read for fun, but I do remember feeling lots of anxiety that summer as I pondered my future and wondered if I could succeed in college. I also know that my mom went with me to get some books for herself, so it may have been her idea to go in the first place. Either way, I’m glad I went.

Looking back, it’s kind of pitiful how clueless I was about books. I didn’t even know that there was a whole genre of books for young adults. So when I discovered The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky, I was essentially introduced to a whole new world. I remember reading that book and being shocked at the subject matter. Even though I read some pretty dark books in school, I never read something with so many controversial topics. And yet I felt like I had some kind of personal connection with the protagonist because I could relate to him on a deeper level. I had never read a book that made me feel that way before.

When college started, I found myself with lots of free time since I had left my video games at home. In order to stay busy, I went to the library and found even more interesting novels. Young adult books like The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness and The Astonishing Adventures of Fanboy and Goth Girl by Barry Lyga captivated me with their engaging plots, genuine dialogue, and ability to tell stories in ways I never knew were possible. And without libraries, I never would have known these kinds of books ever existed.

Libraries allow me to try new books with little worry. Apart from making sure I return the book on time in the same condition I received it, I don’t have to worry about being upset for buying a novel that ends up being utterly awful because I didn’t have to pay for it. In the same sense, I feel great satisfaction after reading a random book that I picked off the shelf and finding that the story is better than I would have guessed. And if I do end up reading a book and realizing I’m not enjoying it, I feel no shame in simply putting it down and trying another. With no obligation to finish the book, I can focus on reading something else that I may enjoy more.

If I do read a library book and really enjoy it, I usually purchase a copy for myself. But with so many books out there, it’s hard to justify buying every single book before I try it, for I’m bound to dislike some of them and feel that I wasted my money. With libraries, this kind of disappointment is avoided, and I’m able to take more risks in what I read.

Libraries are also great places to find movies and music. Even though I stream movies on Netflix and buy music digitally, it’s always nice to have other sources. When I took a film documentary class at college, I was thankful that the library had most of the documentaries available to watch for free. That way I didn’t have to spend money renting or buying a movie that I probably wouldn’t want to watch again. And while I hardly rent music from the library, I’m sure other people appreciate being able to play CD’s in the car and discovering new artists they enjoy.

If you haven’t been to your local library in a while, I recommend visiting to see what’s available. There’s always a chance you’ll discover something special, whether it’s a book, movie, or music. And since a membership to your library is most likely free, you have little to lose and much to gain.